a spoonful of random...

music, interior decorating, or web design?

written at 5:25 p.m. on 06.02.05

Bum ba dum... The daily update streak continues! Hip hip hooray!

So, the furniture men did not take my advice from yesterday's entry. Indeed, they showed up precisely at 4:05pm, right on schedule to screw up Gilmore Girls. I must say, the one dude I saw was fairly good-looking and the guys were in and out of the house within five minutes. I missed a grand total of like two minutes as I was running upstairs to lock up the cats so they wouldn't go running out the front door like the ninja cats they are.

The red chairs are flipping gorgeous. The pillow my mom and I picked out at World Market matches extremely well, and we're going to go pick out paint swatches soon! I'll be sure to take lots of pictures of the house after we finish various rooms. My mom is trying to convince me to become an interior decorator. I must say, it gives me great pleasure and wouldn't be a bad idea for a career...

Except...

I also was told last night that I should pursue music as a career. Yes, I played synth for three back-to-back practices last night at the church. Myste--wife of the youth pastor, piano and voice teacher, owner of one of the most amazing voices I've ever heard, and planning to go to Nashville this summer (a gift from our church to the tune of several thousand dollars) to record an album--approached me after the practices to tell me for the umpteenth time that she would be crushed if I didn't pursue music as a major and a career. "I was watching you, and the music just literally flows out of your fingers. You do everything that I only wish I could do." Wow. My music pastor, Pastor Doug, echoed her thoughts and is also pushing me to earn some moola with my skills. All the compliments left me with my head spinning (and growing), but it made me think a little more seriously about seeing what I could do about getting some music scholarships to somewhere or other.

But..

Then we leave the whole web design thing in the gutter. Sad day! I can't do all three. This has always been the issue. Web design, interior design, music, English, foreign language.. My mind is pulled in too many different directions!

Well.. at least this year I learned that I'm not cut out to be a business major. I like the whole idea of dressing professionally and sitting at the shiny desk with the pretty pens and the fresh stationery.. but.. the whole having to care about defecits and budgets and taxes here and salaries there and nonsense.. I don't give a flip. Just get the job done and don't run me out of business.

Anywho, that's about the extent of what happened yesterday. Furniture. Music. Oh, and I think I may have landed on a color scheme for CookieDesigns.net finally!! Huzzah! Late-night doodling on Paint led to a breakthrough in the creativity lull.

Yup. So. I just talked my dad into bringing home pizza. I paged him, he called home, and the following conversation ensued.

Me: Hi.
Dad: Well, hello, sweetheart.
Me: So. Umm. I have a question.
Dad: Ok. Go for it.
Me: Did you by chance hear from a certain pizza elf that you're supposed to be bringing home pizza tonight?
Dad: Huh. No, I didn't get that message, and sadly, I can't make the pizza elf happy 'cause I have to go do some work at the church tonight.
Me: Awww! Nooooo... [to Mom] He has to go to the church tonight!
Dad: Well.. I suppose I could talk to the pizza elf and see if I could squeeze it in sometime. What would the pizza elf prefer for crust? Thick or thin?
Me: Thin!! (Giordano's has excellent thin-crust pizza, though they're most famous for their Chicago stuffed-crust pizza.)
Dad: Ok. I'll do my best.
Me: Yay! Bye.
Dad: [laughing] Bye.

Huh. Daddy's still wrapped around my finger. Cha-ching! I probably lost my little-girl charm ages ago, but I now have the nerd-child appeal. I'm the only one in the house to understand my dad's fascination with and attachment to all things computer.

Anyway, I took a break somewhere in there to go eat the pizza my dad brought home (scrumdiddlyumptious, I might add), so now it's time to go work it all off by playing some DDR!! Lata, darlings!

:: before :: after