a spoonful of random...

happy birthday to me!

written at 7:43 a.m. on 09.04.05

Today is my 20th birthday. However, I am once again distracted from my birthday joys by a national tragedy. Shortly after my sweet sixteenth birthday, planes crashed into the Twin Towers in New York City, devestating the country and yet somehow uniting us against the forces of evil that would dare try to crush the American spirit.

Four years later, mother nature tried her hand at defacing U.S. soil and found us a much more vulnerable target. The media is aching for yet another thing to throw in the face of President Bush, moaning on and on as to how nothing is being done while doing nothing themselves to help. The Red Cross is yearning for donations of money, food, water, clothing, volunteers, anything, and yet thousands of journalists stand around and write about how horribly President Bush is handling the situation in New Orleans.

Yar, mateys.

Pitch in. Help. Do whatever you can. I don't have a job, but if I help out around the house, my mom can get more done at her job and send the excess money to help. I can donate clothes and shoes. I can walk to the gym instead of driving the few miles down the road, conserving gas for those who really need it.

Who knows where all this will lead. Maybe Americans will learn to take better care of each other and the resources we have. Maybe we'll continue to pout and the nation will fall apart. I personally am hoping that we follow the path of unity and helpfulness and comfort and care that made this nation truly shine after the terrorist attacks of September 11th.

Anyway, I can't really focus too much on something like my birthday right now. I'm insanely excited to be getting the One Ring in silver (I'll get it in gold when I'm rich), and I know my other gifts will be amazing. However, I don't want to continue in my path of selfishness and self-centeredness when there are people in real need. My fellow Americans need a helping hand, and I'm ready to do whatever I can to be part of that.

Pray that Hurricane Katrina will end up being a blessing for this nation.

Oh, and happy birthday to me. :) Go celebrate after you finish helping out the people in New Orleans.

:: before :: after