a spoonful of random...

finished with the essay

written at 11:48 a.m. on 02.14.04
I just finished my essay with 25 minutes to spare. I think I did pretty well, actually. It was two and a half pages typed, double-spaced. Of the four questions available, I felt I was only able to answer two, so I chose what seemed to be the easiest question and just ran with it.

Actually, the only reason I'm typing this up is that it feels too weird to not be typing. I feel too quiet. All the other kids in the computer lab are still typing away furiously. Oh well.

..

Ok, now I'm seeming nervous. Maybe I didn't write enough. Maybe it wasn't good enough. According to Microsoft Word, it was at a 12.0 grade level, which is good, since I'm a senior. I just can't help but wonder how I managed to finish early. I finished my interview early, too. Haste makes waste, and I hope I'm not wasting my time and money here.

Haha.. I left the tag on my shirt. I bought a shirt at the school bookstore yesterday. I really like it, but I forgot to cut off the price tag. Fortunately, I'm wearing a zip-up sweatshirt over it, so you can't really see. Plus, my hair covers it up anyway.

Dang, that reminds me.. why am I wearing a sweatshirt? IT SNOWED YESTERDAY! I'm so upset! It was pretty snow for a while, these huge flakes, but then it started sticking, and now everything is all slushy. I have a hole in the bottom of my left shoe, too, so that's always entertaining. WHY THE CRAP IS IT SNOWING IN TEXAS?

They say that this is abnormal, that it never snows here. But why, oh why, did it have to snow while I am here? I came here to get away from the slush and the snow!

Actually, we did have a lot of fun playing outside while it was snowing. I have to say.. it was ridiculously entertaining to stand around trying to catch snowflakes on your tongue. I guess I just take the beauty of snow for granted sometimes. I ignore the fun side of snow and complain about the cold, messy, slushy side of snow.

It was also really entertaining to see how many kids had never seen snow before. The college kids were all outside screaming in glee. One kid even had skis with him, for whatever reason, so he decided to try and ski down grass (ok, there was a whole quarter-inch of snow, but.. that doesn't really count in my book).

I have ten minutes left before I'm allowed to leave. Bah! Hurry up kids and finish with your essays!

Haha.. I just realized that the banner that was floating at the top of the page said something about lesbians. The room monitor lady just walked by, and I think she saw. She probably thinks I'm a freak. They're really protective about the internet here. They have banned any sites with offensive material, including Getty Images!! (YAR!) I did talk to some people about that yesterday at my interview, since I had finished answering their questions in five minutes and so had five minutes to spare. They said it was possible for me to get some sort of permission to bypass the ban on the images site, since I explained that I'm into web design, and am thinking about doing that as a career, after proper training, of course.

I have so many funny stories to tell, but they are probably "you had to be there" stories, which aren't usually interesting to write or read.

Five minutes and counting.

I'm going to go read some diaries now, so thanks again to all who had me in their prayers and to those who left me encouraging notes! Hopefully all went well!

:: before :: after