a spoonful of random...

octopus

written at 5:17 p.m. on 02.02.04
So, I don't know if you've noticed, but I have updated almost every day now for about a week. I'm proud of myself. Well, proud until I realize that I haven't done much homework in the past week either. Eh.. as I have said many times before, homework is for the squirrels. Ok, maybe I've only said it twice. Details, details.

I guess nothing really mind-bogglingly fun has happened recently. Oh, no, I take that back. Let me tell you about this little contest we had in Economics today... Mr. Marsh is the best teacher ever.

So, we were talking about the decreasing personal value of certain items. The example of candy was introduced somehow, and a genius idea was born. We'll see how many candy bars people can eat before the personal value has diminished so much that it's not worth eating another one. I won't bore you with the details, but the other Economics class had these results: Mark (4), Jason (4), and Brian (5). I thought five candy bars was amazing, considering they were Snickers, which now come with more peanuts than ever. Anyway, for some reason, I forgot that we have Tim, the eating machine, in our Economics class. He ate seven!! I was so impressed. Melody, the only girl to compete, came in second place with six, and Erik had maybe four or five. In any case, Melody and Tim are my heroes now. I'm just glad Melody didn't throw up. If I didn't hate Snickers bars so much, I would've joined the fun, but for some reason, Snickers are just.. not very tasty, in my opinion.

That was the most exciting thing to happen so far.

Here's a question to ponder, though. If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and why?

Octopus!

That question was given as a sample of what the judges might be asking me at the interview I'll be doing in two weeks. If I haven't mentioned this before, I'll be in Texas two weeks from now competing for a scholarship at LeTourneau University. The competition includes an interview and an essay. Normally, I would not participate in such nonsense, but it means the difference between paying for college and getting a free ride. So, here's hoping that I'm one of the five (?) people selected for the award.

American Idol is supposedly having a special Monday edition tonight, which I'm planning to watch while I exercise for Independent P.E. Was there a point to that statement? You betcha! Because I have such important plans for this evening, I must leave to finish my homework.. actually, to start my homework. Maybe I'll add more to this entry later, maybe not. I should probably get around to updating my other diaries, too. I'm sure they're feeling a little neglected. But then again, when do I care about neglecting things? If neopets or Furbies could die, well, I'd have PETA or PITA or TACO all over me for killing innocent "animals," better known as "aliens."

Yup, I'm off once again to see that wizard fellow. The end.

:: before :: after