a spoonful of random...

gullible in the dictionary? no way!

written at 10:32 p.m. on 01.30.04
I was watching TV a minute ago, and I saw a commercial for Mary-Kate and Ashley Olson. It dawned on me that I have never heard Mary-Kate referred to as Mary-Kate Olson. Isn't that bizarre? I mean, people have asked them before whether or not they mind the order of their names (Mary-Kate first, Ashley second), and they seem fine with it. But I want someone to ask Mary-Kate if she minds not really having a last name. Does she mind that people now cringe to hear Ashley and Mary-Kate Olson? It just doesn't flow, mostly because it's breaking a time-honored tradition.

:: In the middle of writing this entry, which I started at 5:00 or so, I took a break for dinner, dessert, and several hours of watching TV with my mom. Can I just say that I love the show "What Not to Wear"? If anyone wants to put me on it, I'd be grateful. I really just want Carmendy to do my make-up and Nick to do my hair. That man is a genius. Look at what he did to that lady who could make her hair look like an antelope!! ::

Ok, so, I was going to write about my adventures in the land of Gullibility. This occurred on.. Wednesday, after chapel, so right before fifth period. I'm blaming my gullibility on sleep-deprivation and insane hunger pains, but maybe I just have stupid moments like the rest of the world.

.. No, it's definitely the lack of sleep and food.

Here we go. Chapel had just finished, and I was closing up the piano and attempting to put the massive black quilted-cover on top of it. This always gives me problems, since I end up putting it on sideways or backwards the first two or three times I attempt this. After finally getting the dumb thing on correctly, I noticed that part of the cover was rumpled and bunched up at the other end of the piano. The piano's huge, and it was going to take quite a lot of maneuvering on my part to get past multiple mic stands and guitars and drums and whatnot. So, seeing that Joel was all of two inches away from the problem spot, I politely asked him to smooth it out for me. He said "Nope."

For some reason, my mind didn't register that this could be and probably was a joke. I was about to start processing thoughts about how offended I was, when he smiled and laughed at me while he quickly fixed the problem. I laughed, rolled my eyes, and thanked him. Then, I made the mistake of informing him that "I must be really gullible today, cuz I was convinced that you were serious for all of a split second." He found this highly amusing, and enjoyed laughing insanely in my face, with a good deal of finger-pointing included to increase my humiliation.

Matt was putting away his guitar nearby, and pounced upon my vulnerability, and said, "Hey, did you know that they're going to put the word 'gullible' in the dictionary?" I gave my usual someone-just-sounded-excited-while-asking-me-something response of "Really?" before I had the chance to realize (a)what he said and (b)that I was making myself look stupid a second time in a row. Man was I embarrassed. I flung myself across the piano, pretending to cry in humiliation, while more laughing and finger-pointing ensued.

I pride myself on being cynical, on criticizing everything that's said to make sure I comprehend what is meant and can make an intelligent response. I guess old Solomon was right in saying that pride goes before a fall. I'm just so good at avoiding those falls usually! I'm used to convincing everyone that I'm always right, that I never stumble. Gosh, it makes it so much more hilarious when I do. Fortunately, as a Narcissist, I find myself irresistible, and of course, I think I'm hilarious sometimes, so I was able to laugh at myself and get over it relatively quickly.

Actually, I realized today how much I laugh at myself. I also discovered that I do this to prevent other people from having the opportunity to laugh at me. For example, it was really cold out today, negative 20 or 30 something with wind-chill. So, I busted out my old winter coat from a last year, which happens to be this humongous down marshmallow-type jacket that I bought specifically for when the weather got downright nasty. The thing is, I look like a freakin sumo wrestler wearing it, and I knew I was going to get some comments on it, so I beat people to the punch line by waddling around like a demented penguin, flailing here and there, hither and thither, moaning about how I couldn't even put my backpack on, cuz my sleeves were too poofy.

The moral of the story is: It's probably not wise to tell stories about jackets. They're not as entertaining as one would think.

Well, that's all for today, folks.

Teh.. teh.. teh-heh..

The End. (That was a reference to Dumb and Dumber if you missed that.)

:: before :: after