a spoonful of random...

short little babble

written at 7:52 p.m. on 01.07.04
I think it is fair to say that almost every advertising technique ever devised during the known history of mankind has been used on a banner on Diaryland. The ads range from blatantly obnoxious to simple and straightforward, from humorous to downright pathetic.. Yet, I see one common factor: almost every single ad links to diary written by an attention-hungry, needy, whiny, outspoken antelope.

The current banner portrays the following message: "Hello. Please come to my diary. Thank you." Umm, that's a definite "Thanks, but no thanks." Reading other people's diaries is most interesting, I agree. But, when you stoop to self-promotion, you obviously aren't that great. Heck, people like Elizabeth can rake in fans from all over the place without obnoxious banners, and so can you. But wait, the whole point of this is to journal your life.. why exactly is this turning into a popularity contest?

Let's just say... I hate people who have the money to have gold memberships. Quite frankly, I don't see the point of a gold membership at Diaryland. The only place I would consider giving money to is Xanga, the one diary host I despise, only because I cannot stand their hideous banners. I might consider giving money to ScribbleJournal, because I love them, but I have a Ring to be saving up for. Premium online diaries will just have to wait.

Monday was craptacular, but most of the horrid situations are resolved, and I actually enjoyed myself today. Amazing.

Forecast: monstrous headache rolling in at about 8:00.. yeah, I'm going to go prep for that. Mocha Frappuccino, here I come!!

:: before :: after