a spoonful of random...

saturday.. yup, that is what day it is

written at 9:42 a.m. on 11.01.03
Ok, I'm not at all a supporter of putting lyrics in one's diary, but this song by Linkin Park really captures my feelings better than I ever could:

Crawling

Crawling in my skin
Consuming all I feel
Fear is how I fall
Confusing what is real

There's something inside me
That pulls beneath the surface
Consuming, confusing
This lack of self-control
I feel is never-ending

Controlling, I can't seem..

To find myself again
My walls are closing in
[Without a sense of confidence
And I'm convinced that there's just
Too much pressure to take]
I've felt this way before
So insecure

Discomfort, endlessly has
Pulled itself upon me
Distracting, reacting
Against my will
I stand before my own reflection
It's haunting how I can't seem...

To find myself again
My walls are closing in
[Without a sense of confidence
And I'm convinced that there's just
Too much pressure to take]
I've felt this way before
So insecure.

The highlighted parts were just pieces of the song that really stuck out to me yesterday in the car as I was listening to this CD. Yup, I really don't believe in the standpoint I took in my presentation yesterday, Allison.. I was just saying those things about secular music to make a debate, so please don't think of me as a hypocrite.

Oh man, Mr. Funkhouser, the P.E. teacher, pulled the best prank yesterday. Apparently, students have been eating Mr. F's food off of his projector cart that he leaves in the music room during certain hours. Anyway, he's sick of people eating his food and taking his gum, so he set up a trap. He put Oreos in a bag, and he placed those on his cart before fourth period. The point is to check back after fifth period and note that if any Oreos are missing, the kids from Spiritual Life / Chapel Band are the culprits. However, Mr. Funkhouser, always trying to teach you to expect the unexpected, messed with these Oreos. Three of the Oreos were filled with toothpaste, three had garlic powder sprinkled onto the cream, and three had chili powder sprinkled onto the cream. Three were left untouched and oh-so-delicious.

I didn't even know that there were Oreos sitting around, and I'm very glad. Mr. F found the remains of one of the cookies spit out into the bottom of a garbage can. None of the guys in class have fessed up so far to being the idiot to eat the cookies. Well, Jordan confessed to having eaten one, but he got a good one. So, it remains a mystery as to who actually ate one. Jason is the prime suspect, but Jordan may not be fessing up, either. Anyway, I'm sure this isn't amusing at all for people who don't go to school with me. Oh well.

Oh, Allison and Shannon, I told you that I'd post the grade that I'm getting in history here.. since it's too horrible to mention aloud. Ok, I'm gonna give you a little riddle, cuz I'm still too horrified to actually have to look at the number written on the screen. Ok, pretend that my cell phone number is ***-****. Take the sixth digit and subtract one. That's the first number in the grade. The second number in the grade is the fourth number in my cell number. Yeah, that's horrible. I seriously contemplated crying... or at least sniffling.

But back to not-school-related things. Hmm.. I haven't told a work story in a long while. Well, last night, being Halloween and all that, some kid stopped by the store in this huge blow-up clown/jester costume. Because of the nature of this inflated costume, his arms were stuck straight out of him, and his legs were spread apart at such an odd distance that in order to move anywhere, he had to waddle. Anyway, he came up to the counter and asked me if we had any of Lil Irocc Williams' CDs. (Yup, a nother "lil" rapper...) I looked it up, and we did indeed have three copies. So, I went to go lead him back to the music, and as I was walking, I heard this frenzied ::Swish-Swish Swish-Swish:: The poor little guy (I say little, but he was probably about ten or eleven) was waddling as fast as he could to keep up with me, and he was nearly tripping over his own feet every other stride! It was priceless. Yeah, we joked a little bit about how hard it was for him to walk, and then I pointed out the CD to him. The best part of this is when he went to reach out for the CD, but he couldn't bend his arm, so he couldn't reach it... Imagine this little kid swinging this huge, stiff arm wildly at the shelf, going "ehh, ehh, ehh" as he tried to reach it. Bwa ha ha.. I couldn't help but laugh. I did finally grab the CD and stick it in his outstretched hand, but I wish I had a camera.

Well, I'm not finding anything remotely amusing to say.. and I have no real story-telling ability, so I should probably stop telling stories... Yeah, I'm off to see the wizard, the wonderful wizard named Gandalf. We'll listen to some Linkin Park together. It'll be a grand old time. Too bad you're not invited, sucker! Bwa ha ha.

:: before :: after