a spoonful of random...

stop the stereotyping!!

written at 12:37 p.m. on 08.02.03
Well, another day, another dollar. Actually, no dollars today, cuz I have the day off! Finally! The laundry is piling up sky high, and, though I got over 100 pages of the Iliad read yesterday, I'm only on page 286, leaving me with over 200 pages to read. Bleck.

So, the Cubs won yesterday, after 14 freakin innings!! The game was already delayed by rain, so it ended up running over the beginning of the Sox game, so between the multiple innings of the Cub's game, they would switch over to the Sox game really quick. I felt bad for the Sox fans, but I was still super-psyched that the game was long enough for me to catch the end of it when I got home from work. Apparently, some guy proposed at the game, and his new fiance was stuck sitting there for a while.. With the rain delays and stuff, some people had been sitting there for seven hours! That's longer than I was at work!

But enough about sports... though I must say that golf, which in my book is not a sport, has taken over my family. My dad has always loved golf, my brother got into it a couple of years ago, and my mom has been taking lessons this summer. Meanwhile, I'm content to be the queen of mini-golf, scoring four holes-in-one in the front nine. Go me. Anywho, I'm upset to have three people in my family willing to watch golf on TV. That is probably without a doubt the most boring thing to watch on TV, except the chemistry program or something. Yeah, I need my own TV.

However, my mother IS taking a break from golf lessons this week, due to her self-inflicted injury. She was trying to cut something with a butter knife, and the knife slipped and cut straight through the little webby part inbetween thumb and finger. And it wasn't like she sawed through her hand... the butter knife was jabbed into her hand, and she now boasts a few stitches. I, on the other hand, was stupid enough to do a repeat performance two days later. Except that I was cutting through a bagel, and the bagel was really air-bubbly inside, so the knife came out quicker than expected. I was NOT using a mere table knife, I was weilding a monstrous serated-edge bread knife. However, I managed to only saw through a little of my hand (same spot, but higher up on my finger, so it hurt less), saving myself the trouble of having to get stitches. Yeah, my grandpa saw my wound first, and called it "cute," saying how my mother would appreciate knowing that I had gone to such an extent to be like her. Needless to say, I roll my eyes every time I think about that conversation.

Ok, so I'm reading this article on the back of "Plugged In" magazine, a Christian magazine that reviews the top movies and albums of "the secular world," also providing suggestions as to Christian sound-alike bands. Yeah, my dad thought it would be a cool thing, but they rarely give a decent review. ANYWHO, the article on the back goes something like this, pardon the horrible paraphrasing: The American Film Institute published a list of the 50 greatest movie heroes of all time. #1 on the list was Atticus Finch of To Kill a Mockingbird. Gregory Peck played the character, and was touched by the announcement. He died in peace. Immediately following Atticus Finch on the list are Indiana Jones and James Bond. The writer of the article was happy that voters "decided that quiet integrety and inner decency were more heroic than sexual conquests, skill with a bullwhip or the ability to dispatch enemy agents with a pair of cufflinks." Then he continues... "The big question is, would modern teenagers agree?"

Now for the rant. I understand that a lot of teenagers today make dumb choices and are rebellious and have few, if any, morals. HOWEVER, I resent the implication that this is somehow different from any other generation's teen years. Teens in the 70's also made dumb choices, rebelled, and tossed morals out the window. Of course, the selection of morals to throw out the window is dwindling as each generation throws out several that will never make a return. But it honestly pisses me off when adults act as if teenagers have no common sense whatsoever, or that we have no appreciation for anything decent. Personally, I loved the book, To Kill a Mockingbird, and I'm sure I'd love the movie. I'd probably have voted the same way, putting Atticus Finch over James Bond. Even though I love the Bond movies, it's still highly unnecessary to have a sex scene in every movie. Sure it boosts the profits, but it doesn't have to be that way. I'd go see the movie MORE without the sex scenes, actually. Besides, Pierce Brosnan isn't exactly the sexiest man alive when he's shirtless and sagging and hairy and crap. He may have been a Brad Pitt back in the day, but this isn't back in the day anymore.

Anywho, that's the big rant of the day. I can't stand getting stereotyped because people my age have a tendency to be obnoxious and stupid. Not everyone in this generation is a mindless skank with goals like "getting five STD's before my 18th birthday." Goodness. Stop being so negative, adults! I'm pretty sure if we dug out YOUR high school yearbook, we would also dig out some unpleasant memories of YOUR screwed up past. Good gravy.

Ok, well, I'm off to read the Iliad before I get in major trouble of some sort. Shannon, I got a lot of messages from you the other day, a day when I was shopping all day with my phone on silent... I'm not sure what you wanted, but you said to only call back if I got the message right away, which I didn't. Oh, and Kristina, I'm working on finding the cast page as we speak. I'm not exactly sure how far back it is in the edit/delete entry thing, so it may take a minute. UMM... that's about it, folks. So, I'm off to see the wizard! Yay! The end!!

P.S. Click the information button to the right to find my work schedule... I explained it in yesterday's entry, but you may not have read it for some reason! Shame on you!

:: before :: after