a spoonful of random...

rant, oh rant, wherefore art thou, rant?

written at 7:51 p.m. on 07.20.03
Hmm. People have craptacularly stupid banners. "too honest for you." Yeah, umm no. Don't go making assumptions about how much honesty I can handle. There. I think I've finally narrowed it down to one major reason I hate the sayings on banners. Assumptions. I hate them. You ASSUME I'll love your diary, or that you're hilarious, or that you will get my attention with a pair of eyes. Well, you're wrong!!!

Ok, so people who have known me for a while may have noticed that I am allergic to habits. I mean, it's hard for me to brush me teeth twice a day. Something about the idea of a routine grates against my soul. If Saturday and Sunday didn't exist, I wouldn't go to school. I guess I am just a very bored person. If I don't experience something new and exciting, I want to quit. Take cheerleading, for example. Sophomore year, I tried to quit like 30 times, but my mom knows me too well, and she knew that within a week, I'd be bored and wanting to go back. So, basically, she let me play it sick a couple times so I could satisfy my need to "break the routine." Now, here is where my story was going... I'm becoming more and more tempted by the day to quit work. I absolutely HATED my last job because it was *every saturday at 1:00pm.* WAY to scheduled for my tastes. Now, granted, I don't work the same days or times each week, and sometimes I don't even work in the same location, but still! It's the same work every day. Cashiering and a couple of side projects, like putting away stock, or doing pull sheets, or switching out the items on a spinner. Anywho, because I'm not learning any new skills or doing anything new, I'm bored. Already. I wouldn't mind it if I worked in Elgin more, cuz with the lack of customers and all, I get to do more interesting things, and I'm always learning stuff when I'm there. Anywho, I guess there was no point to this, besides maybe attempting to inform all you bored people out there that I have issues with routines. Aren't you feeling informed now?

So............I'm entirely WAY too tired! I almost fell asleep reading the Iliad's introduction. Which, is WAY too long, if you ask me. Josh was kind enough to keep me awake in church though. Hehe. Man, he wouldn't even shut up with my parents sitting next to me! But that's ok, I still heard the sermon and stuff. I wish he would come back to Westminster though. Oh well.

Oh man, check this out... now there are microchips are out that can be implanted into humans. This is sounding more and more like the end times. That's so creepy. My Sunday School class used to watch movies about the end times, and it seemed about as near as the Jetsons-technology. But it's like here and now! Check out the story on Yahoo by clicking here.

Well, I can't think of anything interesting to talk about. OH, here we go. I actually DID something Friday night! Christen and I went to Rockford to visit Kyle, Scott, and Kristin Carpenter, as well as the now-infamous Nick. Anywho, we had a lot of fun on the drive there, what with the "SLOW DOWN!!" lady and the "Hey, wanna race?" guy... But those are too risque to put on this Rated-G diary, so I'll explain when you're older. SO, we went on Friday cuz it was skit night, and the skits were actually pretty good. Each cabin did their own skit, and this one cabin of girls even had their own name, G2G (glory 2 God), and they kicked butt! They had a lot of talent, and they definitely have a chance at becoming a true drama group. Anywho, it was fun to actually get to SEE Kyle again. Scott and Kristin were really fun to hang out with, too. Scott has some facial hair going, and it's a major improvement, though I'm not at ALL implying anything by that, no offense to Scott. Nick.. well, ... I wrote in my latest letter to Kyle that on a scale of one to ten, Nick is only getting a 2 from me. One point for giving me gum when I first met him at graduation. One point for being a human being.

He definitely did not get any points for this little stunt... See, I was sitting in between Kyle and Nick. Christen was sitting next to Kristin in the back. SO, at one point, the "campers" were supposed to stand up, turn around in their chairs (everyone except the performers were sitting in folding chairs in the audience: campers, visitors, family,...etc.) and they were supposed to sing to the families. I must say, for being a capella, they were awesome, and the harmonies were really tight. But, being that I wasn't a camper, I was stuck sitting while they sang like inches from me. Nick moved over closer to Kyle, and that was fine, until the next song. See, the next song, we all stood up, families and friends included, and sang one last song. Nick wouldn't move. I ended up being bumped over to the other side of Nick. I figured, "Hey, he'll move back when we sit down." NOPE! I lost my prime seat to him. Major loss of "cool points." Grr. NICK GOT TO SPEND A WHOLE WEEK WITH KYLE! I'M ONLY ASKING FOR 2 HOURS!! SELFISH LITTLE WHORE!!!!! Ok, enough is enough. Kyle noticed immediately and was like, "Dude! You just stole her seat! That's Rachel, dude! That's RACHEL!" Nick looked at me like, "Are you really gonna MAKE me move? *snicker*" So, not wanting to make a huge scene, I let it go, but Nick is NOT on my favorites list at all.

Minor update: Kyle is just my really good friend. I no longer really consider him a "Bob the Snail", but I'm totally happy with that. He's still a special guy to me, but I love just being friends! I'm so happy with how things are turning out, so no complaints here! Plus, now I can joke around with Josh again about him impregnating me on his 18th birthday so that I can get a free car. :)

I should put a disclaimer: WARNING: Lots of inside jokes, and you WILL be outside some of them. Bwa ha ha.

Well, I'm bored out of my skull. Yup, I am outside of my skull at the moment, floating around. My soul is still connected at my feet, kinda like the shadows on Peter Pan. Newsboys have so may good songs. I'm just babbling now. I wish I could think of something witty or funny to say. I need something to rant about. I mini-ranted about banners, but I'm in the mood for a full-scale RANT! A rant that stirs from the bottom of my skull-less soul. That makes me want to grunt like a lumberjack. Maybe I could rant about the lack of rants. Ok, I'm just getting more and more stupid by the second here. So, to prevent any damage to my "reputation," I'm gonna go now, and do my summer-homework. Grr. WAIT! I smell a rant!!

Ok, I found my rant. Summer schoolwork. WHO the heck decided to make students work in the summer? It's summer BREAK not summer SCHOOL! It's not like a portapotty, 's not portable and it's not supposed to travel!! Go away! I mean, how am I expected to be in full health for school when I have to stay up until forever in the morning to do my "homework"? I'm not fully rested if I can't REST!! I can't juggle chores, PLUS a job, PLUS a "life," PLUS vacations PLUS schoolwork! I guess I don't mind the reading, cuz I enjoy reading, but ESSAYS? The closest to hell that one can possibly get on earth?! Besides Hell, Michigan, of course. (We're still on for that road trip, right, Shannon?) Anywho, I'm appalled at the fact that I'm actually expected to THINK and to actually TURN ON MY BRAIN!?!?! during the middle of the summer! It's illegal! Somewhere there is an unwritten law about teachers not being allowed to interfere with summer joyousness. It's just not right!!! GGRRRRRRRRR (There's that lumberjack growl...)

Did you know that there are contraptions out that can translate your cat's meows and your dog's barks? Amazing huh? I always wanted to know what my cat thought of me when I got all close up and started talking all googly. "How's my wittle kitty witty?" *Meow* Now I could find out that the "Meow" means "Get away, you fat weirdo! I'm trying to sleep again. I have a quota to meet here!"

Well, I'm about to get in trouble for being online without permission.. bwa ha ha. Ground me. I dare you. OH, too late. You already did. Did I blink too many times? I'm sorry. It's secret code. Yar. The end. I'm off to see the wizard. And Frodo....purr..

:: before :: after