a spoonful of random...

i want to curl up and die

written at 9:30 p.m. on 07.15.03
In case anyone is wondering where the heck I have been, I'm still trying to figure that out myself. Let me try and untangle the last couple days. Sunday night, I couldn't find my schedule for work this week. For some reason, I was thinking that I had Monday and Tuesday off. Well, after some frantic searching, I found out that I had Tuesday and Wednesday off. So, end of Sunday.

Monday, I went to work, spending the busiest two and a half hours of my life trying to answer the phone WHILE checking people out WHILE answering questions from people wandering around. "Do you sell anything to reward Alcoholics Anonymous members, like one-year and two-year medallions?" NO, we are not your local randomness shop, I'm sorry. "My grandson is getting baptized, and his grandfather just passed away last week. Do you have any baptismal gifts that also could serve as a way to remember his grandfather?" YES, we have everything from polka-dotted baptism/death mugs to disco-balls. Not. NO, we don't carry things to cater to two random events! This isn't McDonalds.. no combo meals here. Sheesh.

Later Monday, after having to babysit some people that came to clean our air ducts (so we could turn on the AC without getting sawdust from the hardwood floors blown all over) my mom suggested car shopping. We went to one used car place in Crystal Lake, and then to Gary Lang, where we found some potentials. We then headed over to McDonalds, and on the way out of McDonalds, I noticed that we were right next to the Honda dealership, and they had about two rows or so of nice-looking certified used cars. It was late, so we just planned on wandering around and looking while we chomped down on our junk food. However, as we were about to leave, this salesman pulls up in his two-door Honda Accord (they look better in two-door.. that's why I mentioned that) and asked if we needed any help. He was on his way home, but he told us it would be no trouble to help us out. He said that leaving at 9:00 was actually really early, and that he had stayed several times until midnight! So, we asked about any cars in the five grand range, and he pointed out this really nice-looking Dodge Intrigue. The car had just been put in the lot, so he had to go all the way back to the dealership building and get the info on it. We took it for a test drive, and to make a long story short, it is now ours. A '98 Dodge Intrigue, black, with power everything, and my favorite... a CD player. That was essential to me. Yay! Oh, and we didn't get out of there until 11:00 at night. Poor guy. He wasn't married anymore though (wonder why), so it wasn't like we were worrying his wife or anything. Anywho, while we were waiting for my mom and dad to talk the guy's price down, my brother and I sat in all the cars in the showroom, including .. dun dun dun.. the nastiest looking vehicle on the planet in my opinion: the Honda Element. BLECK! The interior isn't that bad, but man, it looks like a hurse (sp?) on the outside. Nasty beans. There were some pretty sweet cars though. Purr. If only I could be rich... sigh...

Today, I got called in to work, even though I was supposed to get a day off. Somebody was sick, and I took over the shift. Grr..

Allison, Josh, Christen... I have tomorrow and that's it. Take it or leave it. Well, I'm exhausted. Good night all. I'm off to drive around in my beautiful car that smells like monkey-butt.

(Oh, and I wanted the lisence plate to be COOKIE 7, but my brother was like "I'm not driving a car with a girly lisence plate!!" Loser. He IS pretty girly to begin with, so that probably wouldn't help his already-sagging image, but still... the only thing he'll agree to that isn't LEGOMAN or something is BLAH 27. Pretty lame, but it'll work. He wanted to do something with the letter "X" in it, but that sounds dumb. Anywho... I'm off to see the wizard, yo!)

:: before :: after