a spoonful of random...

trust in the Lord always

written at 1:06 p.m. on 04.08.05

Man, it takes a lot for me to find the good in situations sometimes. This week has indeed been wretched. The past few weeks have been filled one stressful situation after another, most of them not my own. Looking at my own problems, however, I'm realizing how much my faith in God will be tested by this. I trust in the promises of His Word, but as soon as that trust is tested, those words become a distant memory. Yet, time and time again, He proves Himself to be trustworthy. Every time I stumble, He is there to pick me up. Every time I hurt, He is there to comfort me. I am never without His presence or His love, and yet I act as if I am all alone in handling my burdens.

I am reminded of a song I listened to as a child.

I cast all my cares upon you
I lay all of my burdens
Down at your feet
And anytime that I don't know
What to do
I cast all my cares upon you

While I have some truly amazing friends who are here for me constantly to share my burdens, they too have their limits. They have their own share of problems. To reference the analogy of burdens being rocks in a backpack, we are simply trading rocks around. The weight of the backpack remains the same.

I am amazed that it has taken me this long to realize something so simple and so obvious. God has filled me with such an incredible peace. A weight has been taken from my shoulders, and all my burdens and concerns have been placed at His feet. All I have to do now is to trust in His perfect will.

"'For I know the plans I have for you,' declares the Lord, 'plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'" - Jeremiah 29:11

God is good!

:: before :: after