a spoonful of random...

babblative, scribblative, writative, talkative.. read on for more info

written at 7:32 p.m. on 08.24.02
Aack! So many cool things; so little time before I forget them all. Ok, first, thank you Queen Alliseen for the postcard, it's definitely going in my locker :). Second, I'm going to babble about the radio. But don't worry, there's a third thing after that for y'all to look forward to. Oh, since I've been told it's easier to read if I space out the paragraphs, I will work on that.

Ok, so I was listening to the radio today (94.7 "the zone"), and i got really bored during an EXTREMELY annoying commercial, complete with an EXTREMELIER ANNOYINGER jingle.

So i switched through a couple of my presets and was pleasantly surprised when I got around to 91.5FM, which is like Chicago Public Radio or something. It's not the classical station, cuz that's 98.7FM (another preset..hehe).

But anywho, back to 91.5, I always love that station cuz at night--like after blah-o'clock--they usually have jazz on. It's not like elevator music thouhg; it's some pretty nifty jazz. (Though elevator music is nifty sometimes too.)

But tonight, it wasn't jazz that caught my attention...it was accordion music (accordion with cello and other instuments). I immediately imagined myself in Paris, France, sipping expensive coffee at a cute little cafe, people-watching with a friend.

Yes, well after the song ended and I drifted back to Illinois, I was surprised to hear that the DJ sounded like he was in an auditorium of some kind. Well, it turns out they were broadcasting from a POPCORN convention of some sort (???) and the next thing I know, I'm listening to a hilarious story about ketchup, sponsored by the ketchup association or something. I was like, ok....and that was finished by a short song about ketchup.

yeah, then they played one more cool song and the show ended with popcorn popping.

ok that was some of the babble, i'll save the rest for later. for now, let's move on to the third thing i promised to talk about...which is...oh yeah, the word of the day:

babblative . BAB-luh-tiv . (adjective)

: garrulous (side note from rach: garrulous means talkative, i learned that as a vocab word at some point in my pointless life)

Example sentence:

"I don't mind a little small talk," said Lilly, "but I don't care to spend a whole airplane flight listening to the life story of some babblative stranger."

Did you know?

"Babblative" is a chatty member of the "ative" family, a collection of several hundred English words ending with the Latinate suffix "-ative" (which means "relating to" or "tending to"). "Babblative" appeared in the 1500s, but it wasn't the first word-related member of its clan. "Talkative" has been around since the 15th century. Other verbal family members are more recent, but their heritage is distinguished. "Writative" (meaning "given or addicted to writing") was apparently first used by Alexander Pope in a 1736 letter to Jonathan Swift. (He wrote, "Increase of years makes men more talkative but less writative.") Younger still, "scribblative" (meaning "given to verbose and hastily written writing") was probably coined in 1829 by Robert Southey when he wrote of "professors of the arts babblative and scribblative."

Ok this is getting insanely long, so I guess I'll stop babbling. (Though I had so much cool stuff to babble at you about, but I forgot it all. Oh well.) the end - rach.

:: before :: after